Dont Worry if You Sent Something to the Printer by Mistake

2010-09-28 08:55:48

Published on 2010-09-28 08:55:48

We've all been there. We've all sent something to print in error, and it's typically the case that the print job will contain several pages, a complete waste of printer ink and paper. Unsure of what to do, many people opt for the 'turn it off and back on again' approach, only to find the offending documents begin to print again when the device is powered back up.

Responding to a reader's account of a similar scenario, Marc Saltzman of the Sync blog notes that this is a common experience, and mentions that one time he even tried to "pull the paper out of the printer in a panic". Of course, Mr Saltzman warns, that this is never a good idea, as it can cause serious damage to the printer

Instead, he suggests a much easier and safer method. When a print job is in operation, users will spot a small printer icon close to the clock on the screen. By double-clicking on this picture, a control box will pop up. From there, simply select the particular job from the list, right click and select 'cancel'.

Hey presto.

Posted by Canzil Ahmed.

« Return